It happened again. A harnessed horse – this time one pulling a carriage with tourists in the old section of town – bolts in the middle of traffic and terrified onlookers; its frantic gallop captured on ubiquitous mobile phone cameras… A reminder of an equally panicked animal galloping beside the carriage carrying  the newlywed Prince William and Kate… again, caught on camera by the few that spotted the frightened rider-less horse. Who are those that will see the drama taking place on the sidelines, of both life and conscience, in the midst of chaos and society’s frenetic pace? Counting myself among those that do, I frankly bemoan their/my lot. The suffering of animals, both wild and domesticated, with a poignant bow to those relegated to the food ‘industry’, has been the bane of my existence, and could very well turn this blog into a litany of anguished recollections, images preferably erased from my memory, yet lodged there forever. And this is but a prelude to the damage we humans wreak on each other… The latest scientific discoveries point to a genetic predisposition towards empathy and kindness, as previously they linked genes to criminal behaviour. A slippery slope…Who knows…I still believe in the  innate knowledge of right and wrong, but as Bertrand Russell said, I would not die for my beliefs, because I could be wrong…

Leaving the philosophical discussion to others for now…  here are a few beautiful images of horses by French artist Léa Rivière…

ImageImageImage

